If the shoe fits…

When I first started running I didn’t pay attention to running shoe design.  Like most people, I selected running shoes by price, look and fit.  I had read about shoes that were designed to support the mechanics of pronation, supination and foot strike but I wasn’t a believer.

In the spring of 2001, after three years of running in the wrong shoes, I decided I would visit a specialty running shop and invest in my feet.    It took an hour of working with a knowledgeable sales person to find the right shoes and I have been wearing the same model for ten years.

My collection of New Balance 760s

If you’re a runner and you haven’t been to a specialty store for an assessment of your running style, I highly recommend it.   Finding the right shoe reduced my foot pain, changed the way I run and opened he door for me to be successful as a recreational marathon runner.

Key Points:

  • Bring your old shoes.  The worn tread and packed insoles provide a profile of your foot strike.  This will help in assessing the best fit for your next shoe
  • Call ahead and find out if the store has a treadmill.  Some shops will allow you to test shoes with a short treadmill run.  If they have a treadmill, you’re on the right track
  • Expect to answer questions about running goals, foot pain, shin splints and blisters
  • Ask about the store’s return policy and product guarantees.  Make sure they will let you return your shoes if you don’t like them after a few indoor test runs (treadmill or track)
  • Seek out shoes that represent a consistent product lineage.  For me I found the New Balance 760 stability series.  This shoe’s design and size profile has stayed the same for 10 years.   This removes all the guesswork and allows me to take advantage of online sales.  I just ordered a pair of last year’s NB 769 model for $50, the same shoe retailed at $140
  • Consider width.  A shoe’s width makes a BIG difference if you have wide or narrow feet.  I know New Balance makes their shoes in different widths and this keeps me coming back.

Links:

www.onlineshoes.com

http://www.thestretchinghandbook.com/archives/pronation-supination.php

http://www.therunningadvisor.com/running_shoes.html

http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/tipsandtricks/a/replaceshoes.htm

This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment